February 22, 2010

  • A year ago today, God put it in my heart (Nehemiah 2:12)

    Today's prayer includes a bit of a reflection on some of what led to the start of tent of meeting. If you have never done so, you may wish to read more of that story here (please see section II.- Prayer). (I would also encourage you to read more about tent of meeting here and here.)

    I am praying our Lord would continue to keep all of us He has called to prayer steadfast, immovable, always abounding in His work knowing that our labor in Him is not in vain.

    Seeking His face with great joy and assurance,
    Karen

    Nehemiah 2:9  Then I came to the governors of the province Beyond the River and gave them the king's letters. Now the king had sent with me officers of the army and horsemen. 10  But when Sanballat the Horonite and Tobiah, the Ammonite servant, heard this, it displeased them greatly that someone had come to seek the welfare of the people of Israel.

    11  So I went to Jerusalem and was there three days. 12  Then I arose in the night, I and a few men with me. And I told no one what my God had put into my heart to do for Jerusalem. There was no animal with me but the one on which I rode. 13  I went out by night by the Valley Gate to the Dragon Spring and to the Dung Gate, and I inspected the walls of Jerusalem that were broken down and its gates that had been destroyed by fire. 14  Then I went on to the Fountain Gate and to the King's Pool, but there was no room for the animal that was under me to pass. 15  Then I went up in the night by the valley and inspected the wall, and I turned back and entered by the Valley Gate, and so returned. 16  And the officials did not know where I had gone or what I was doing, and I had not yet told the Jews, the priests, the nobles, the officials, and the rest who were to do the work.

    Holy Father,

    A year ago today, You put it in my heart
    Though You were already putting it on my heart
    That day a year ago I heard Your voice through Your Word

    Moreover, as for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray for you...I Samuel 12:23

    You put a desire to pray in my heart
    You put a desire to pray for Your people in my heart
    A year ago today, You put it in my heart
    I am trusting You to keep it in my heart
    You who began this good work in my heart will complete it
    To Your glory alone

    Just when I forget or lose heart
    Your grace flows down from on high
    Your fire descends
    To light the cooling coals
    Your Spirit thunders
    To shake lukewarm complacency
    Your Word speaks
    To awaken dormant passion

    Moreover, as for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray...

    A year ago today, You put it in my heart
    You alone can keep it in my heart
    Lord God, keep in my heart what You have put in my heart
    I can't even keep my own heart apart from Your grace

    You put a desire to pray in my heart
    You put a desire to pray for Your people in my heart
    A year ago today, You put it in my heart
    I am trusting You to keep it in my heart
    You who began this good work in my heart will complete it
    To Your glory alone

    Holy Father,

    You have put a desire to pray in others' hearts
    You have put a desire to pray for Your people in their hearts
    You have put it in their hearts like You put it in my heart
    I am trusting You to keep it in our hearts
    You who have begun this good work in our hearts will complete it
    To Your glory alone

    Just when we forget or lose heart
    Grace, flow down from on high
    Holy Fire, descend
    Light our cooling coals
    Holy Spirit, thunder
    Shake our lukewarm complacency
    Holy Word, speak
    Awaken our dormant passion

    Moreover, as for us, far be it from us that we should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray...

    You put it in our hearts
    You alone can keep it in our hearts
    Lord God, keep in our hearts what You have put in our hearts
    We can't even keep our own hearts apart from Your grace
    You who began this good work in our hearts will complete it
    To Your glory alone

    You put a desire to pray in our hearts.
    You put a desire to pray for Your people in our hearts.
    You put it in all our hearts.
    I am trusting You to keep it in our heart.
    You who began this good work in our hearts will complete it
    To Your glory alone

    Moreover, as for us, far be it from us that we should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray...

    Holy Father,

    You put a desire to pray in our hearts
    You put a desire to pray for Your people in our hearts
    You put it in all our hearts
    Now I am trusting You to put that desire in more hearts
    Send forth more intercessors to join us to pray for the harvest
    Complete the work You have begun here on earth
    That Your Gospel would be proclaimed to all nations
    To Your glory alone

    Moreover, as for us, far be it from us that we should sin against the Lord by ceasing to pray for laborers...

     

    Please add your prayers as His Holy Spirit leads you.

Comments (5)

  • I ask Lord for your holy spirit to turn people's hearts toward you primarily- above all else. To thirst for you as a deer pants for water. To find healing and refreshment from your word, your fellowship and those who are yours. Praying we will each reflect God's love and grace, but also live holy lives--humble, simple, unselfish, God-honoring and people cherishing lives. Praying we not get distracted by public opinion or cares of this world that we forget who and what is really important. Let us praise you and be forgiven, as we forgive also and remember what our hands are capable of without your amazing mercy and grace. Amen.

  • Amen, Father. I so agree with @YouTOme's prayer.

    Keep our eyes and hearts fixed on You, Lord.

  • My Father

    Here is my prayer for today and always:

    Oh Lord, You're beautiful
    Your face is all I see
    For when Your eyes are on this child
    Your grace abounds to me

    Oh Lord, please light the fire
    That once burned bright and clear
    Replace the lamp of my first love
    That burns with holy fear

    I want to take Your Word and shine it all around
    But first help me just to live it, Lord
    And when I'm doing well, help me to never seek a crown
    For my reward is giving glory to You

    Thank You, Lord for calling us and choosing us for this.

    Amen

  • @quest4god@revelife - Amen, brother! He IS beautiful! So beautiful! And I thank Him along with you for calling and choosing us for this.

    Lord God,

    Light the fire. Keep it lit. To Your glory alone.

    Amen.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

"he called it the tent of meeting..."

I am burdened to pray to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ for the reformation and reviving of Christ's church.

The phrase tent of meeting comes from Exodus 33:7: Now Moses used to take the tent and pitch it outside the camp, far off from the camp, and he called it the tent of meeting. And everyone who sought the Lord would go out to the tent of meeting, which was outside the camp.

This site is devoted to God first and foremost. In all that is done here, my prayer is that God is glorified and His Name magnified and Christ and Him crucified is lifted up so He might be preeminent and God might receive all the praise, honor and glory due His Holy Name. All who have come to a saving knowledge of our Father by grace through faith in the all-sufficient sacrifice of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ are welcome to enter this tent of meeting to seek the Lord.

This blog is a place for all believers in the Lord Jesus Christ to come and seek God's face for revival. My intention is for this tent of meeting to be a holy place where we can enter into PRAYER together to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, as the Holy Spirit leads you, please enter into prayer either here (think of "comments" as prayers) or on your own.

Habakkuk 3:2 O LORD, I have heard the report of you, and your work, O LORD, do I fear. In the midst of the years revive it; in the midst of the years make it known; in wrath remember mercy.

RSS Feed